WLRH Events

Black Wings Exhibit at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center

Date: 

Repeats every week every Monday until Sun Nov 02 2014 .
Monday, August 25, 2014
Monday, September 1, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014

Description: 

The U.S. Space & Rocket Center presents: Black Wings: American Dreams of Flight. This chronicles the story of African Americans who, despite facing racial barriers, attained great achievements in the world of aviation. Designed by the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service in conjunction with the Smithsonian’s Air and Space Museum, the exhibit presents the story of a powerful group of aviation proponents that emerged to challenge racial obstacles and create their own legacy in the world of flight. Some of the most important figures, both past and present, are chronicled in this exhibition. From Bessie Coleman, the first African American woman to receive her pilot’s license, to Mae Jemison, the first African American woman to fly in space, Black Wings retells the stories of African Americans who dreamed of flight, left their mark and helped pave the way for those who would follow.

Event Phone Number: 

256-837-3400

©2014 WLRH PUBLIC RADIO

Address

WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions

Phone

LOCAL:
(256) 895-9574

TOLL-FREE:
(800) 239-9574