WLRH Events

Space Camp Hall of Fame


Friday, August 8, 2014


The Space Camp® Hall of Fame was established to honor the outstanding members of the Space Camp family, including graduates and former employees who have distinguished themselves in their respective careers, and friends of the center who have made considerable contributions of personal time, effort or resources to further the goals of Space Camp programs. Since 1982, Space Camp has graduated more than 600,000 trainees, and Hall of Fame members demonstrate exceptional character and exemplary personal and professional achievements. Members of the Space Camp Hall of Fame exhibit leadership among the globe-spanning Space Camp alumni community, providing guidance and encouragement for alumni to continue to support the Space Camp program and its mission. The U.S. Space & Rocket Center hosts the annual Space Camp Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony to celebrate and honor new nominees each year. The 2014 celebration is from 6 p.m. – 10 p.m. on Friday, August 8, 2014. Tickets are required and must be acquired in advance. This year’s inductees are: 1. Kaya Tuncer (1937-2012) is the founder of Space Camp Turkey which opened in June 2000. 2. Captain in the Italian Air Force and currently an astronaut with the European Space Agency, Samantha Cristoforetti is a 1995 alumna of Space Camp 3. Former NASA Johnson Space Center employee, Michelle Lucas Ham, is a 1991 and 1994 alumna of Space Camp Guest Speaker: Astronaut Charlie Precourt, Vice President and General Manager, Space Launch Systems at ATK Special Guests: Astronaut Dr. Don Thomas Astronaut Robert “Hoot” Gibson Astronaut Ken Ham Five Tuskegee Airmen You may remain after the event for an exclusive screening of the documentary I Want to be an Astronaut at 9 PM, followed by a panel discussion. This event's sponsored by ATK.

Event Phone Number: 




WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions


(256) 895-9574

(800) 239-9574