News Stories

WLRH wins honors at ABA 2018 ABBY awards

Monday, March 26, 2018

Radio and Televison professionals from across Alabama attended the twelfth annual Alabama Broadcasters Association’s  “Best in Broadcasting Awards”, otherwise known as the ABBYs, on Saturday, March 24th at the Hyatt Regency in Hoover.  According to the ABA, a record number of entries were received and the number of stations participating increased for this year's awards.  WXFL-FM of Florence was named Radio Station of the Year and WALA-TV of Mobile received the TV Station of the Year honor.

WLRH FM/HD was excited to receive two ABBY awards this year. won Best Radio Large Market Website and "The Public Radio Hour" won Best Radio Large Market Public Affairs Program. WLRH General Manager Brett Tannehill, Promotions and Membership Manager Rebecca Goodwin, and Volunteer Producer Cathie Mayne attended the ABBY ceremony and dinner to accept the awards on behalf of WLRH. 

Check out all the full list of ABBY award winners and the entries on the ABA website.




WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions


(256) 895-9574

(800) 239-9574