Sundial Writers Corner (TN Valley writers podcast)

The Sundial Writers Corner is one of WLRH's longest running programs and greatest traditions. For more than 20 years, Sundial has featured prose and poetry submitted by talented Tennessee Valley wordsmiths. Each weekday at 9:30am during Morning Blend and 3:44pm during All Things Considered, a different voice from your community is heard in “The Writers Corner.” Enjoy commentaries, short stories, poems and everything in between, told in the voice of the author. Many of our writers have received awards at the state and national level, while others are exhibiting their creative abilities for the first time.

Would you like to submit to the Sundial Writer's Corner?

View Guidelines

Have a comment or question? 
Contact Sundial Writer's Corner!

Jennie McBride "GPS Salvation" (October 21, 2016)

Friday, October 21, 2016

Wayne Holliday "Curmudgeon" (October 20, 2016)

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Sara McDaris "Our People" (October 19, 2016)

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Beth Thames "Public Radio and Me" (October 18, 2016)

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Cindy Small "New Orleans Farewell" (October 17, 2016)

Monday, October 17, 2016

Susan Luther "The Dangerous Because..." (October 14, 2016)

Friday, October 14, 2016

Poet Susan Luther has been pondering on the meaning of that frightening word, "Because" - it could be dangerous!

Rosalind Fellwock "Cookie Grandma" (October 13, 2016)

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Rosalind Fellwock comes from a strong rural background, and has lots of good memories, one in particular about her mother's magic on the wood-fired stove...

Patricia Sammon "On Reliability" (October 12, 2016)

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Kay Campbell "Reading with Wine" (October 11, 2016)

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Kay Campbell is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - she finds herself hungry for a good read...

Nancy Rohr "Let Me Count the Ways" (October 10, 2016)

Monday, October 10, 2016

How do I love thee, WLRH?  SUNDIAL Writer and local historian gives us her reasons!

Houston Hodges "A New Pacer" (October 7, 2016)

Friday, October 7, 2016

Houston Hodges has made friends with his new friend Merlin, a second radio station in Houston's life, and a very important one, too!

Susan Luther "Dancing with the Stars" (October 6, 2016)

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Susan Luther usually writes poetry, but when Houston Hodges issued a certain challenge to the SUNDIAL writers, the muse of prose tapped her on the shoulder and said,"May I Cut In?"

Daniel Schenker "Room Cooler" (October 5, 2016)

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Daniel remembers a time when air conditioning, like the good china, was brought out only on rare occasions.

Allison Case "A Little Help" (October 4, 2016)

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Allison Case was searching for an old-fashioned writing machine (known to some as a typewriter) when she was offered some wise words at the beginning of her career.

Kathryn Tucker Windham "Selma Bells PT.3" (October 3, 2016)

Monday, October 3, 2016

Peggy Bilbro "Texas 2Step" (September 30, 2016)

Friday, September 30, 2016

Peggy Bilbro has recently started to explore a special blend of prose and poetry called Haibun - here's her creation "Texas Two-Step."

Margaret J. Vann "Empty" (September 29, 2016)

Thursday, September 29, 2016

From her latest chapbook, "Can This Be Heaven?" Margaret Vann reads her poem, "Empty."

Kim Roper "Grandma" (September 28, 2016)

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Kem Roper offers a tribute to her grandmother, Alice the Great, who was small in stature but huge in spirit...

James Miller Robinson "Just Above the Coconuts" (September 27, 2016)

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Kathryn Tucker Windham "Selma Bell Tour PT.2" (September 26, 2016)

Monday, September 26, 2016




WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions


(256) 895-9574

(800) 239-9574