Sundial Writers Corner (TN Valley writers podcast)

The Sundial Writers Corner is one of WLRH's longest running programs and greatest traditions. For more than 20 years, Sundial has featured prose and poetry submitted by talented Tennessee Valley wordsmiths. Each weekday at 9:30am during Morning Blend and 3:44pm during All Things Considered, a different voice from your community is heard in “The Writers Corner.” Enjoy commentaries, short stories, poems and everything in between, told in the voice of the author. Many of our writers have received awards at the state and national level, while others are exhibiting their creative abilities for the first time.

Would you like to submit to the Sundial Writer's Corner?

View Guidelines

Have a comment or question? 
Contact Sundial Writer's Corner!

Anna Lee 'Talking with Children' (June 5, 2017)

Monday, June 5, 2017

SUNDIAL writer Anna Lee knows that many of life's pleasures are completely free of cost.  She tells us about one of her favorites...

Kathryn Tucker Windham 'Birthdays' (June 2, 2017)

Friday, June 2, 2017

Kathryn Tucker Windam always felt that age was just a number, really not worth fretting about!

Eugene Ham 'Hobos' (June 1, 2017)

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Eugene Ham is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - retired from Lincoln County High School in Fayetteville, TN as a Latin teacher, he savors colorful tales of Lincoln County history...

Melissa Ford Thornton 'Firefly Suppers' (May 31, 2017)

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Melissa Ford Thornton is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - eager anticipation of the first firefly sighting each spring continues to be a tradition for Melissa and her family - here's her story of firefly suppers...

Gail Hopson 'The Bed' (May 30, 2017)

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

SUNDIAL writer Gail Hopson found herself musing on the subject of beds, and what makes them so important in our daily lives...

Beth Thames 'Advice from Mothers' (May 29, 2017)

Monday, May 29, 2017

As long as she was in the classroom, Beth Thames encouraged her students to share the good advice offered by their mothers, and in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today, Beth passes on some of these time-honored pearls of wisdom...

Walter Thames 'Mom's Pork Chops' (May 26, 2017)

Friday, May 26, 2017

Monita Soni 'Train Travel' (May 25, 2017)

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Ginny Gilbert "Month With No Gods" (May 24, 2017)

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Sallie Estes 'Traveling with Mama' (May 23, 2017)

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Allen Berry 'Cartoon Wife' (May 22, 2017)

Monday, May 22, 2017

Patricia Sammon 'Spell Check' (May 19, 2017)

Friday, May 19, 2017

Joyce Billingsley 'Comfort of Coats' (May 18, 2017)

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Chuck Puckett 'Flights of Infancy' (May 17, 2017)

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Margaret Vann 'Back Roads' (May 16, 2017)

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Chris Ferguson 'Famous Cat' (May 15, 2017)

Monday, May 15, 2017

Rose Battle 'Shortcut to Paradise' (May 12, 2017)

Friday, May 12, 2017

Kay Campbell 'Bouquet' (May 11, 2017)

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Anna Lee 'Loaning Out the Car' (May 10, 2017)

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Cindy Small 'New Orleans Funeral' (May 9, 2017)

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Cindy Small, a native of New Orleans, remembers in great detail one of the unusual send-offs (funerals) in the Big Easy...

Pages

©2017 WLRH PUBLIC RADIO

Address

WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions

Phone

LOCAL:
(256) 895-9574

TOLL-FREE:
(800) 239-9574