Sundial Writers Corner (TN Valley writers podcast)

The Sundial Writers Corner is one of WLRH's longest running programs and greatest traditions. For more than 20 years, Sundial has featured prose and poetry submitted by talented Tennessee Valley wordsmiths. Each weekday at 9:30am during Morning Blend and 6:44pm during All Things Considered, a different voice from your community is heard in “The Writers Corner.” Enjoy commentaries, short stories, poems and everything in between, told in the voice of the author. Many of our writers have received awards at the state and national level, while others are exhibiting their creative abilities for the first time.

Would you like to submit to the Sundial Writer's Corner?

View Guidelines

Have a comment or question? 
Contact Sundial Writer's Corner!

Nancy Darnell "The Blood Advantage" (Sept. 30, 2015)

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Nancy Darnall is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - a tale from her childhood reminded Nancy that a bloody nose (or chin) could carry real advantages...

Dave Trueb "Seventh Day of Fall" (Sept. 29, 2015)

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Poet Dave Trueb is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - he says farewell to summer in anticipation of fall...

Sara McDaris 'Four Seasons in Rome' (Sept. 28, 2015)

Monday, September 28, 2015

Sara McDaris is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - she's always immersed in books of every variety, and takes us along for a year in Rome with author Anthony Doerr and his family...

Walter Thames "Why I Cook" (Sept. 25, 2015)

Friday, September 25, 2015

Monita Soni "Ricki and the Flash" (Sept. 23, 2015)

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Susan Luther 'Preserves' (Sept. 22, 2015)

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Poet Susan Luther is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - her mother, a true pioneer woman, filled the family's basement with preserves of all kinds, which now include precious memories for Susan and her siblings...

Jennie McBride 'Snow' (Sept. 21, 2015)

Monday, September 21, 2015

Jennie McBride is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - she and her family have lived from one coast to another, and although they've now chosen to settle in the deep south, every now and then, Jennie still finds herself longing for a true winter wonderland.

Joe Berry "The Magic of Storytelling" (Sept. 18, 2015)

Friday, September 18, 2015

Ted Roberts "Thoughts of a Cat" (Sept. 17, 2015)

Thursday, September 17, 2015

Barbara Kirkpatrick "Eating Out In Greece" (Sept. 16, 2015)

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Joyce Billingsley "Nettle Tea" (Sept. 15, 2015)

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Danny Lindsey "A Baseball Tale" (Sept. 14, 2015)

Monday, September 14, 2015

Rhonda Broyles "Cookie Cutter Ruins?" (Sept. 11, 2015)

Friday, September 11, 2015

Virginia Gilbert "Rental Car" (Sept. 10, 2015)

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Rose Battle "The Battle Family" (Sept. 9, 2015)

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Bill Case "The Abbey" (Sept. 8, 2015)

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Peggy Bilbro "Follow the Seasons" (Sept. 7, 2015)

Monday, September 7, 2015

Beth Thames "Country or City Folk" (Sept. 4, 2015)

Friday, September 4, 2015

Cindy Small "Parade Preparation" (Sept. 3, 2015)

Thursday, September 3, 2015

Cindy Small is in the SUNDIAL Writer's Corner today - a native of New Orleans, she now lives in Alabama, but remembers in great detail the cajun music, the Creole food, and, most of all, preparations for the Mardi Gras parades!

Monita Soni "Ricki and the Flash" (Sept. 2, 2015)

Wednesday, September 2, 2015




WLRH Public Radio
UAH Campus
John Wright Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

Get Directions


(256) 895-9574

(800) 239-9574